SportsForce was at the 2009 Breitbard All-CIF awards held at the Hall of Champions in San Diego, CA June 22, 2009. Former Padres Pitcher and 1976 Cy Young Award Winner Randy Jones was the keynote speaker, and honorees had the pleasure of receiving their awards from him.

Awards were given out to members of the first and second teams in baseball, softball, boys track and field, girls track and field, boys swimming, girls swimming, boys volleyball, boys tennis, boys golf, gymnastics, boys lacrosse and girls lacrosse. The “First” and “Second Team” recognition was decided by a media panel with input from coaches. The honorees came from several high schools through out the region, with no one school dominating the awards. Some of the schools with top athletes were: Mission Hills, Rancho Buena Vista, Poway, Mt. Carmel, Steele Canyon, Scripps Ranch and Escondido to name a few.CIF athletesS

Player of the year honors for baseball went to Steven Packard of Mission Hills. Laura Winter of Rancho Bernardo nabbed the top honor for softball. Mac Fleet of University City was the top athlete in Boys Track and also the top athlete for the 1600M. Sammy Silva of Our Lady of Peace was the Athlete of the Year for Girls Track and the top competitor in the 1600M. Spencer Didio of Carlsbad was named the top performer in 100 Butterfly as well as the Athlete of the Year for Boys Swimming. Jessica Schmitt of Torrey Pines was named Athlete of the Year for Girls Swimming, as well as the top performer in the 200IM.

Myles Muagututia of Francis Parker was honored as Player of the Year for Boys Volleyball.  The top honoree for Boys Tennis was singles player Zach Leslie of Point Loma. Top finisher and Boys Golf Player of the Year was awarded to Steven Kearney of La Costa Canyon. Gymnastics Athlete of the Year and All-Around Top Competitor is Tina Wilhem of Mt. Carmel. Bobby Braun of Coronado was named the Player of the Year for Boys Lacrosse. Jackie Candelaria of La Costa Canyon took the honors for Girls Lacrosse.

Coach of the year honors went to Gary Remiker, Cathedral Catholic for Baseball. Steve Kuptz of Rancho Bernardo for Softball. Mike Stevens, Torrey Pines for Boys Track and Field. Don Jones, Rancho Bernardo for Girls Track and Field. J.B. Feaster of Carlsbad for Boys Swimming. Amanda Phillippe, Carlsbad for Girls Swimming. David Jones, La Jolla for Boys Volleyball. Anne Meigs, Torrey Pines for Boys Tennis. Steve Armstrong, La Costa Canyon for Boys Lacrosse. Monique Lamphiere-Tamayoshi, Mt. Carmel for Gymnastics. Alex Cade, Coronado for Boys Lacrosse. Katie Dolan, La Costa Canyon for Girls Lacrosse.

For the complete list of students named to First and Second All-CIF teams visit:

One Response to “SportsForce Covers San Diego All-CIF Awards Ceremony”
  1. Thanks, this site is very valuable

Leave a Reply

Follow Us
Stay Connected
Get the SportsForce Blog in Your Email